The Show MUST go on!… Well Not Always..

So in the middle of September I heard about an event that was happening at my university at the end of the month. I thought that it would be the perfect place to debut my first collection! Who doesn’t love a good fashion show?

I contacted the organizers and they were down for me to be a part of it. I was kind of freaking out though because I literally had 2 weeks to finish 3 garments, find 15 models, AND coordinate the show (music etc). All of this had to happen whilst still staying top of my school work —-> I KNOW RIGHT!

Anyways, finishing the garments was probably going to be the easiest part… I just needed to have a day where I was feeling motivated. When I have days like that I am literally unstoppable.. haha!

Models next.. Luckily I was volunteering for a fashion event called “I AM FASHION” , in Ottawa, the weekend before my show.  My friend Anita [designer behind Freakum Dress Couture (FDC)] and I scoped out about 4 girls from that event! It was so funny because we must have looked like total creeps at the rehearsal.. we had to make sure their walks were on point so we were really watching them! Also because I originally started just making clothes for myself, the girls had to be slightly curvier than your typical models. Obviously I was gong to have to alter them slightly,  but the way some of my clothes are designed, drastic alterations will really take the effect away.

So i’m busy running around Ottawa, going around the 2 universities,  the shopping malls, and even on the street, approaching random girls who looked like they fit my criteria. With about 4 days to spare I basically had everyone I needed. I had even managed to find 2 dancers to open up my show. In total I had managed to get 17 people to be part of my show.

While all of this had been going on, I hadn’t really heard any news from the event organizers. I remember it was a Tuesday (the event was supposed to be on the Friday) and there were no posters up, no tickets had been sold, no event page created. It just didn’t seem like it was going to happen.  Then I heard from a friend that the date had been changed. I was taken aback by this because the organizers hadn’t told me anything about this.

Bearing in mind the number of people who I had gathered together to be a part of my show, I decided to pull out of the event.  I hadn’t previously known most of the people that I had asked to take part in my show, yet they had scheduled me into their lives to come for fittings etc. I didn’t feel comfortable messing them about and coming across as disorganized. It was my first introduction to the “world” as a designer and I wanted it to be perfect! I’m not the kind of person that likes to settle for anything less than the best.

Don’t get me wrong, I am not trying to make the organizers look bad, because I have no idea what they were going through on their side of things. But the way I see it, first impressions are hard to shake so I made what I thought was the best decision for israella|KOBLA|

I’ve been talking for a while… so to be continued in my next post :)

Much Love,

Emefa :* :*

Leave your thoughts

