Your Name is so Unique… Where Does it Come From?

So normally, when someone decides to start a designer label they probably, you know, have a brand name in mind. But for me, I started sewing as a way to keep myself occupied whilst I was in Ghana. I really didn’t plan on taking sewing further than a hobby, so coming up with a name was never really an issue for me. 

It was actually my aunty that implanted the idea of setting up my own label in my head. I just laughed it off at first, as if she wasn’t serious! But I’m the kind of person that once something is in my head I can’t stop thinking about it.

But yeah, once i actually made the decision to pursue this fashion journey, I didn’t have to think twice about what my label would be called. “Israella” is my middle name, I was named after my Dad who is called Israel. And “Kobla” was my brother’s Ghanaian name. It is an Ewe name given to a boy born on a Tuesday. The name is so important to me because it is my way of dedicating my company to my brother; it’s the thing that will always keep us bonded, the last thing that I can ever share with him.

My brother and I <3

 

I know my brother would have been so proud of me for turning such a negative situation into an amazingly positive one.

RIP big brother.

I will never stop missing you.

:* :*

2 thoughts on “Your Name is so Unique… Where Does it Come From?

  1. What a moving tribute, he knew you that well and how talented you are! Keep up the excellent work with more grease to your elbows, girl.

Leave your thoughts

